New Colorado Booster Seat Law Goes Live
Colorado accident lawyers need to keep up with periodic changes in state law that affect auto accident and personal injury cases. A new Colorado booster seat law affecting drivers with children rolled out last Sunday.
According to this new Colorado law, all children under eight years-old must now be in a car seat when riding in a car. Prior to the new law’s passage, only children under six were compelled to ride in booster seats. Patti Moon, a reporter for KRDO Newschannel 13, brings us this statement:
Colorado Springs police officer Pat Turechek said it’s a change that is well overdue. Turechek said small children using only a seat belt can suffer injuries to their stomach and neck.
‘I’ve seen several accidents where kids under 8, not using a booster seat, have sustained internal injuries from the accident,’ Turechek said.
Turechek said children need to use a booster seat until they are at least 4 feet 9 inches tall.
Responses to the new law vary with no shortage of support and opposition. Regardless of your position, it is now officially Colorado law. Tammy Vigil, reporter for KDVR Fox 13, notes the penalties for not complying with the new law, as well as a helpful tip:
Not having a child in a booster or car seat is a primary offense, police can pull violators over for that reason alone. The minimum fine is $82 for every violation. But police will give a warning in the law’s first year.
There are several booster seat fittings across Colorado. A list can be found at http://apps.coloradodot.info/CarSeats/index.html
Those of you with young children should take note. Even though there is a one year grace period, this is now on an official part of the rules of the road in Colorado.
Even if you consider this law a minor inconvenience, studies show booster seats increase your child’s odds of escaping personal injury in the event of an auto accident. And that’s the most important thing.